Weekly Panda Roundup – My Birthday Celebration at a Pac-Man Restaurant

Hi everyone! Hope you all had a great weekend! We just had another out-of-town weekend, but we had a lot of fun! We’ve been very busy lately and missed out on a Weekly Panda Roundup as a result. But I also have a pretty good reason: I was celebrating my birthday last week! I have more on that soon, but first, let’s round ‘em up!

YouTube Channel Art Template V3 Alternate 2

Video Roundup – Pandas at Play

My wife and I, the Pandas at Play, are continuing to grow, and we owe it all to our wonderful subscribers and viewers. Thank you so much to all that helped us reach our milestone of 100 subscriptions! It means the world to us that you would watch, subscribe, like, comment, and share our content! We hope to keep making fun, quality videos and trying new things on our channel! So stay tuned to see what’s on the horizon for us!

  • If you haven’t yet seen our videos and want to see what we’re all about, you can check out the links below! We sincerely hope you enjoy!
  • Our YouTube channel link is here! https://www.youtube.com/mrpanda2002
  • And if you’d like to subscribe after watching our videos, please click here! http://bit.ly/2oaYX1r

Thank You 100 Subs! V3

Again, because we can’t say it enough. THANK YOU!!!

Super Bomberman R Review

After being absent for nearly a decade, Bomberman is finally back for more explosive multiplayer! But is his return a blast or a dud? Find out in my video review of Super Bomberman R for the Nintendo Switch! And let me know what you think of the Bomberman series and/or his newest game!

Super Mario Bros. – 2 Players, 1 Controller!

My wife and I started a new series, Pandas Paired Up, where we play games together while sharing a controller. In this first episode, we tackle the NES classic Super Mario Bros. together while coordinating our controls. Crystal Dragon is in charge of running and jumping, and I move Mario around. Will we make it through World 1-4? Can we get past that first Goomba? With our faces caught on camera, watch our laughter (and frustration) as we experience Mario in this new way! Let us know what you think, and tell us what other games you’d like to see us try in the comments!

Snipperclips Co-Op Part 9 – Sludged Together

Part 9 our co-op playthrough of Snipperclips is up, and we continue being “silly scientists,” perhaps even MAD SCIENTISTS! In this episode, we face our toughest challenge yet: gooey sludge and two blobs that have no idea how to DODGE… We also make Pokeballs and align the planets (aka Sailor Scouts). If none of that makes sense, watch the episode and see what we mean! Enjoy our experimental errors below, and let us know what you think!

As always, you can start with the above episode or find the full playlist starting at Part 1 – Stabby Sticks here: http://bit.ly/2nFmc5v

Pac-Man Restaurant Lego Pixels Level 257.JPG
He’s coming for us!

Birthday Celebration at a Pac-Man Restaurant!

Last week, we traveled out to a Pac-Man themed restaurant to celebrate my birthday. This place not only had amazing food and drinks with video game flair, but also hosted a large arcade with many Namco games including the most recent iteration of Mario Kart Arcade GP DX. This arcade-exclusive version has distinct characters not seen in the main series including Pac-Man himself and the Taiko Drum from Taiko Drum Master.

Note: Click on images to enlarge or see captions.

The free pizza I got for my birthday was delicious, and the bonus ghost cookie completed the iconic scene of our favorite yellow mascot devouring the once-predators. Other hot items on their menu included DK Barrel baked potatoes and drinks titled “Pac Power Punch” and “Rainbow Road.”

The restaurant décor is lovingly themed with a gigantic Lego Pac-Man welcoming you inside along with statues of the yellow pellet muncher and arcade screen rugs. There is also a mini-museum with timelines, pictures, videos, and interesting artwork interpretations. The arcade store has a bunch of fun prizes as well, if you can amass enough tickets to earn them. As an amiibo fan, I couldn’t help but notice the Pac-Man amiibo, but there are other gifts such as Mario plushies and Pokemon iHome devices.

Birthday Games.JPG
Switching it up for my birthday!

I got some nice gaming-related presents as you can see above. Of course, they’re all Switch games, haha! In addition to Disgaea 5 Complete, Ultra Street Fighter II: The New Challengers, and 1-2 Switch, I also received Lego City Undercover. I’m very grateful to have been gifted these, and it feels so awesome to have a growing Nintendo Switch physical library. There still aren’t many retail boxed games out, but there is a decently big diversity with different representative third party publishers. They’re all of varying quality, but they’re definitely games that I’ve wanted to try out. Look forward to written and video reviews in the weeks and months to come!

Blue Yeti Blackout Microphone
I was so surprised by this ultra thoughtful birthday gift!

My wife gave me one of the greatest gifts of all: a brand new Blue Yeti Blackout Microphone! This has already provided great studio quality sound for our most recent YouTube videos, and I’m so excited to have it! This means so much to me because it really shows my wife’s undying support for me and our channel. She’s such an amazing person and has always helped me out since starting this very reviews site. For her to give me this very expensive microphone expressing her love and trust to me speaks louder than the gift itself. I vow to keep using this amazing gift to create quality sounding videos! Thank you to my wonderful wife for making this a truly special and heartwarming birthday!

Pac-Man Rug Level 257.JPG
Hope you’re ready for the excitement to come in the following weeks!

Next Time…!

Thank you so much for reading this special birthday edition of Weekly Panda Roundup! On Thursday, my wife and I will be uploading an E3 special, and we hope you enjoy it!

Have a great week everyone! Until then, see you next time!

How was your weekend? What games are you playing? What did you think of the videos? What are some of your favorite gaming-themed places? What have been your favorite gaming-related presents? Let me know in the comments section below! Thanks for reading and watching!

35 thoughts on “Weekly Panda Roundup – My Birthday Celebration at a Pac-Man Restaurant

  1. Yay Happy Birthday Mr. Panda!!! ❤ We had a blast celebrating Mr. Panda’s birthday last week. I’m so glad we were able to go to a delicious video game-themed restaurant! That Pac-Man pizza and ghost cookie hit the spot! Wakka Wakka! I was more than happy to further support Mr. Panda by giving him a high quality microphone. I know it will come in handy for all our videos. Also, playing Super Mario Bros. while holding half the controller was pretty challenging—but also hilarious! Please enjoy watching our crazy antics!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! Thank you for the wonderful surprise! You know what I love! 😉 And I’m glad you got to enjoy the delicious (free) birthday food too! I always love playing Mario Kart Arcade GP DX together! 😀 Great job with the editing for the Snipperclips video, of course! And I agree! Please enjoy watching our SILLY SCIENCE!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Birthday! That Pac-Man restaurant is awesome! I’m still waiting for one to open in NYC since it’ll be more convenient for me to go there. A lot of cool presents for sure and it sounds like this was a spectacular weekend. In gaming news I’ve made it to chapter 8 of Ghost Trick so I’m about halfway. It’s been a pretty fun game so far and certainly a unique one. Looking forward to seeing how the mystery unfolds.

    For E3 I have one hope above all as shock game. Nintendo vs Capcom. That would be awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much! A Pac-Man restaurant just has to open in NYC! That’d be a perfect place for it. I feel that there must be at least some other gaming themed restaurants and bars there, yes?

      Also, I love Ghost Trick, so I hope you enjoy it! It’s made by one of my favorite game writers, Shu Takumi of Ace Attorney fame. Perhaps if there is a Nintendo vs. Capcom (which is an awesome idea), Sissel could be a part of it, as could Phoenix Wright, the Ace Attorney himself! Thank you for sharing!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Birthday Mr. Panda! It looks like you had an amazing time. That’s actually a really neat theme for a restaurant (Mmmm… pizza). I’m looking forward to both your E3 special and to hearing the results of your fancy new microphone 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you so much! I love the theme, and it reminded me of going to Final Fantasy cafes in Japan. There need to be more of these themed restaurants and bars in the west! I’d definitely go… to all of them! 😉 We’re so excited about our E3 special and will be using our brand new shiny fancy microphone! Hope you love how we sound on it! Thank you again!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I remember one time when I played Super Mario Bros. with another person and I made it all the way to World 6-4 without warping. When I died, I said, “Okay, your turn.” It’s not exactly a great two-player game, though your solution sure made things interesting!

    I’m glad you had a good time on your birthday! I didn’t think there’d be a Pac-Man-themed restaurant, but now we’re to the point where the people who grew up in the arcade era are starting their own ventures, so it makes sense. In either case, it sure looks like the two of you had fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thank you so much! We love experimenting and seeing what crazy things we can do with games, so we hope you enjoy our fun project with Super Mario Bros! 🙂

      And it was a wonderful birthday celebration! I’m surprised we have a Pac-Man restaurant too, but I also forget how popular and mainstream the character was decades ago. The world really hit “Pac-Man Fever” around then, and it’s great that it’s leading to places like this springing up. I’m hoping for more themed restaurants, particularly Nintendo ones! I’m sure we’ll get those in the new Universal Studios Nintendo World opening up! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot friend! Serious answer is it came on a separate plate. But the real answer that you came here to see is that they put the missing pizza piece in the arcade store, and we had to redeem it through forced games of skee ball.

      Like

  5. Happy Belated Birthday! I’m super late with this and I apologize o.O I always have the excuse of my blog sub backlog, but…it’s my blog sub backlog lol. These past few weeks have been the worst for some reason, but regardless, it looks like you had a marvelous time! That restaurant looks awesome, and I want to go there 😀 I was thinking of Pac-Man the other day at the movie theater, because the claw machine had him, Mrs. Pac-Man and the ghost monsters. I wanted one, but those machines are notoriously difficult to do. Now I have the Pac-Man music stuck in my head hehe. The little ditty right before you start a board, but I can’t be upset at that. It’s such an iconic game.

    You must be well over a hundred subscribers by now since it’s been a few days 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot TSN!! And no worries, I’ve been really busy too, out of town every weekend and busy throughout the week. Plus this is a very celebratory time for us here at the Panda household. After my birthday, we just celebrated our anniversary, then the missus’ birthday is in a week. So we’ve got a lot going on lately!

      I had an amazing time at the Pac-Man restaurant! If you are ever in the area somehow, I’d totally take you there! 🙂 And I would so love to get Pac-Man plushies at a claw machine. I’ve gotten pretty lucky before, winning a Kirby and Yo-kai Watch plush at two separate Nintendo claw machine events at my local mall. And now the music is stuck in my head too! Wakka wakka wakka!

      We’re definitely growing, and it’s thanks to wonderful subscribers like you! 🙂 I definitely have a long way to go, and it’s tough to make the videos, but I’m enjoying the wild ride so far! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So many celebrations! Tell Mrs. Panda I said Happy Birthday to her, too 🙂 Having so many things around one point is kind of fun. My brother considers the entire month of July his birthday lol, and heck, any reason to celebrate is a good reason for me.

        Where is the Pac-Man restaurant located? If I’m ever in that area, I will definitely have to check it out! There’s not really any game themed restaurants around here; the only thing we get is this small convention called Too Many Games, but then I’m not far from Philly and Wizard Con goes on there, but that’s more for comic books though one of my friends did see an adorable Sephiroth there one time. I could go to NYCC, but I’m a bit anxious around crowds, which is why my bucket list dram to go to San Diego Comic Con makes absolutely no sense.

        I have to imagine a YouTube channel is even more arduous to keep up than a blog! I’ve done a tiny bit of video editing, and it is time consuming D:

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Definitely, she says “Thanks!” Between our birthdays, anniversaries, and the usual early summer rush of vacations, graduations, and traveling, this past month has been exhausting. And it continues well into July. I’m not complaining, but this is definitely why I keep falling behind with everything lately…

        Yes, seriously, hit me up if you’re ever near Chicago. It’s not actually in the city, but it’s nearby. I can message you more details if you’re ever actually in town. I love nerdy conventions and would love to go to NYCC someday. I used to live around there, so I had the opportunity once, but never took it. 😦 Luckily, there are so many awesome cons around here, which is why I try to attend as many as I can. I’d love to attend San Diego Comic Con too! Or even at least Anime Expo, the biggest con in the U.S. California gets all the good conventions!

        The YouTube channel is very time consuming. Editing takes a long time, for sure, especially given what I try to do to put everything together. Recording, mixing it together, and making thumbnails also takes up so much more time than I could have anticipated. Apologies if I’ve ever seemed to disappear lately. It’s hard enough to keep up after traveling nearly every other weekend!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. If you ever go to NYCC definitely let me know and I’ll do likewise if I’m ever/in the Windy City! My BFF goes nearly every year and it’s not that far for me. Three hours to go to a con and meet up with a friend is nothing. I once drove up there to buy a Sephiroth figurine lol. The west coast really does get all the good cons. I guess because it’s where Hollywood is so there are already a lot of famous people floating around. We don’t really have that on our end of the country mores the pity.

        It’s especially difficult when you edit the channel as well as you two do! Adding in music and game clips and making sure the sound is right. I follow a lot of YouTubers whom I’d love to see more of, but even though I don’t know the details of the editing process, I know if you want quality videos (just like if you want quality anything), you have to wait.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I will certainly let you know! I can’t guarantee I’ll ever go there, but I’ll at least give you a heads up if I’m anywhere in NY for any reason. Gotta go back sometime! 😉

        And yes it’s very difficult and time consuming, but it’s worth it to put together the finished product and even more worth it when others can enjoy it! Not gonna lie, it’s much more stressful, but it’s also truly something else that I never thought I could do or would be doing. It means so much to me when you and other wonderful people like what they see and leave such awesome comments! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Happy belated birthday!!! Seems like you and your wife had a blast! I can tell by your big smiles haha. 😀 Congrats on the 100 subs and I didn’t know there was a Pac-Man restaurant! That’s really cool.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Happy Belated Birthday 🙂 !!
    The restaurant looks amazing and a blast to visit, really wish there were more places like that here in South Africa. Also I’ve just watched the video on your E3 predictions and noticed the microphone, I have to say it sounds great!! And of course coming back to this post I now strangely crave Pizza…Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!! I’m really lucky to have gone! There are honestly very few places like this here at all. I’m glad it sounds great! It’s such a meaningful gift, and I’m so excited to use it! Hope I didn’t make you too hungry. I’m getting hungry just thinking about the pizza… And the cookie too! Mmmm…

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It’s such a fun restaurant, and gaming goodies is pretty much a regular thing for me at birthdays and Christmas now. Been that way since I was little, haha. What can I say, I just haven’t changed my tastes. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The pizza fits Pac-Man so well! And thanks! I’m enjoying it so far! I haven’t played much Disgaea before, so it feels fresh to me after all that Fire Emblem. I’ve actually been playing more of Disgaea 5 than Fire Emblem Echoes.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

